Canon engages with over 2,000 consumers

Dr Alok Bharadwaj with Soha Ali Khan at ‘Canon Photo Marathon India 2011’ in New Delhi.Inspiring and surprising shutterbug comes naturally to Canon. To get the adrenaline rushing of photography enthusiasts, this year, Canon India held its third ‘Canon Photo Marathon India’, a photography contest simultaneously organized in New Delhi, Mumbai and Bangaluru. Aimed to bring together photographic talents in the battle to capture the best pictures under tight deadlines, the one-day contest was open to all camera users and attracted more than 2,000 entries. The highlight of the event was the Grand prize of an eight-day Photo tour to Australia in the guidance of renowned photographer Triston Yeo for top two winners, from each country. The other winners would be rewarded the EOS 1100D, EOS 550D and EOS 600D from the exciting range of Canon cameras. The ‘Most inspiring photograph of the day’ from each city would also win an ESO 1100D from the kitty of Canon.

The event was flagged off by Kensaku Konishi, president and CEO, Canon India and fashion-celebrity photographer Daboo Ratnani in Mumbai; Dr Alok Bharadwaj, senior vice president, Canon India and leading Bollywood actress Soha Ali Khan in New Delhi; and Aindrita Ray in Bangaluru. Speaking on the occasion, Konishi said, “Photo Marathon is Canon’s flagship endeavour to add to the excitement and challenge of photography enthusiasts for shooting beautiful pictures and explore their skills. This year’s three city-Mumbai, Delhi and Bangalore Marathon evidently proves the drastic increase in the number of participants.” “It is a very unique concept to help create ‘photo culture’ and passion in photography in India. We are delighted to see how photography has gained acceptance in the country and is growing from a hobby to a new culture,” added Dr Alok Bharadwaj.

Canon Photo Marathon India is the regional round of Canon Photo Marathon Asia 2011, one of the most recognized and largest photo competitions which entered its 9th consecutive year with the contest that spanned five countries- India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam.

Group Publications